top of page
brucebrockettvideo

Sergeant Joanis is on a Roll!


I'm pleased to announce that my latest film received quite a few awards at the 2024 BYU Public Domain Film Festival! The Trial of Sergeant Joanis (2024) was premiered at the Varsity Theater on February 16 with the other nine finalists, before going on to win the following:


Best Acting Performance (Hanna Schneck as Sergeant Joanis).


Runner Up for Audience Choice.

Runner Up for Best Screenplay.

Runner Up for Best Production Design.


Nominated for Best Picture.

Nominated for Best Director.


Top Ten Finalist.


But even with all of the awards and commendations we received, I'm proudest of the fact that our team (The Dutch Anglers) was able to successfully create such a moving film in only ten days!


This was my third and final year directing a PDFF entry, and I'm truly astonished at how well everything turned out! Repeatedly participating in this festival has been an incredible growth experience and hands down one of my favorite parts of being a BYU student. I've collaborated with some truly amazing folks, learned more about the global heritage of storytelling, and had a blast making some pretty awesome (if I do say so myself) films!


Making Sergeant Joanis was honestly the best way I could've possibly wrapped this part of my college experience. Go Dutch Anglers! You guys ROCK!!!



31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page